2015 Outstanding Technical Editor Awards


Every year, SPE recognizes members who have made an exceptional effort to ensure the technical excellence of the Society’s peer-reviewed journals. For their contributions, the following individuals are recipients of the 2015 Outstanding Technical Editor Award.

SPE Drilling & Completion

Glen Benge, Benge Consulting

Bob Carpenter, Chevron

John M. Cook, Schlumberger

David A. Curry, Baker Hughes

Zhi Fang, Brunei Shell Petroleum

Laurent Gerbaud, Mines Paris Tech

George Gillespie, Weatherford

Patrick Kenny, Murphy E&P Company

M. Evren Ozbayoglu, University of Tulsa

Bharath N. Rao, BTech Soft

Frederic J. Santarelli, Geomec

Geoffrey T. Weighill, retired from BP

Bailin Wu, CSIRO Earth Sciences & Resource Engineering



SPE Honors Peer Reviewers of Technical Papers

SPE created the A Peer Apart program to recognize dedicated individuals who have been involved in the peer review of 100 or more papers. Members who commit their time to peer review papers make substantial contributions to the industry’s literature by helping to ensure that the papers published in SPE’s technical journals are the highest quality. Over time, these individuals volunteer hundreds of hours to the Society, making SPE journals a valuable resource for the industry.


This year, nine individuals join the elite group who has reached the milestone of reviewing 100 or more technical papers–bringing to the total membership of A Peer Apart to 143 dedicated members.

Frank F. Chang, Saudi Aramco

Shilin Chen, Halliburton Security DBS

Peter J. Clifford, BP Exploration Europe

Niall Fleming, Statoil

Wayne W. Frenier, Consultant

Guohua Gao, Shell

Christopher J. Jablonowski, Shell

Stephen E. Laubach, The University of Texas at Austin

Silviu Livescu, Baker Hughes Canada